Ski Reviews by Brand:

Ski Review

Ski News

Dynastar Speed Omeglass 63 2005

First impressions, a 64 with cosmetic surgery!Omeglass 63 - Omeglass 64 with a new paint job? Well…yes and no. The Omeglass 63 is slimmer at the waist, giving the ski a shorter radius – much like a hyper carver (something Head have always been good at).  Considering this ski was supposed to be released officially for the 2004/2005 season – you may have been as surprised as we were after having seen them kicking around the Alps since late 2003.

Model: Dynastar Speed Omeglass 63
Size(cm) / Radius(m): 152/11 157/12 165/13
Sidecut: 116/63/103
Length Tested: 165cm

Manufacturer’s Description:

?

Ski-Review’s Verdict:

Visually not much different than the Omeglass 64, although the red and blue bands are considerably thicker and run across the binding plates aswell.

* The 157 is apparently still being tweaked over the summer for general release.  Thanks to one of our readers Jim Hoag for that info.

Dynastar; you have to love them - always keeping you guessing and doing some very odd things at very odd times. But those who complain do so with a wry smile – as Dynastar make world class skis.

Since I first saw this ski I have been looking around for chance to ski it. I was in the Alps for a few weeks recently and finally had the chance.

To the unaccomplished skier, there is not a lot of difference between the Omeglass 63 and the 64.  The main difference is the waist; they are a whole millimeter thinner – hence the name (well…duh – I know I know…).  It does not sound a great deal but with equipment like this it makes the world of difference on the snow.  That’s why the FIS (Fédération Internationale de Ski) have such strict regulations down to a tolerance a millimeter in which competitive equipment must comply.  It does make some difference in the amount you can turn on these (even though the 64’s have a turning circle of a London taxi).

It seems that it is not only Dynastar who are making things thinner and tighter in the race carve market – Salomon have introduced versions of the flagship Equipe 3V and 2V skis which unlike the originals do not comply to FIS regulations.

These are one of those skis you need to keep turning as if you point them down the hill you will find them making you dance like Elvis.  If you have any knowledge about near race stock skis like these you know how stiff they are etc so I will not elaborate.

Suffice to say if you like carving, have strong legs, great technique or you race and not too fused about skiing in power and jumps etc this is a very good ski to have in your quiver.  If all of the above are true except for you racing, I cannot recommend the Omecarve 10 enough – all of the Omeglass strengths without the concrete flex and the anti-social tails.

Conclusion?

Another great ski from Dynastar.  Inherits pretty much all the traits from its bigger (?) brother the Omeglass 64 – while skimping on dimensions and possibly FIS regulations for next season for that extra bite when skiing with the masses.

If you have 64’s there is no real benefit or advantage in buying these – except for lift queue posing of course…

Real time prices for the Dynastar Speed Omeglass 63 2005, or similar ski products:

Reader Ski Reviews of the Dynastar Speed Omeglass 63 2005
Dynastar Speed Omeglass 63 2005
Written by Ski Review Guest on 11/08

The 63 will give way at high speed medium to long radius cranked turns. Great for short turns though. 

The 10 on the other hand is rock solid in longer radius turns, but too soft for aggressive slalom turns.

Anyway, get a pair of SL11 s instead. I love them. But still like the 63 too.

Dynastar Speed Omeglass 63 2005
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/05

Best racing-ski ever! Does it all, small radius turns, medium, long, and everything in between. Change of turnradius? No problem. Super stability in all circumstances. There is no better ski..

Dynastar Speed Omeglass 63 2005
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/14

I own a pair of SL:11 and the 63 the 63 wins hand down.

Dynastar Speed Omeglass 63 2005
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/24

i like to race it is very fun to beat old people on my 63 or sl-11 both very fun go with what you like

Dynastar Speed Omeglass 63 2005
Written by Ski Review Guest on 03/14

The fastest turning ski I have ever used (due to the increased sidecut). Fantastic for short, fast turns in the slalom course and provides awesome support in longer faster turns aswell. Miles better than the omeglass 64. Leave the rest stunned….highly reccomended!!

Dynastar Speed Omeglass 63 2005
Written by Ski Review Guest on 08/17

radium is not 13 with omeglass 165 ...

Dynastar Speed Omeglass 63 2005
Written by Ski Review Guest on 09/03

This is by far the best slalom race ski on the market. Its truely amazing, you tell it what you whant to do and it does it even on plastic the inside edge never pulls you away from the turn. In a slalom race this ski gives you the edge over your oponent as long as they dont have a pair already. (way better then the 64’s)

Dynastar Speed Omeglass 63 2005
Written by Ski Review Guest on 10/01

These 63 dynastar skis are turning so well ... solid carving.  You need stong leg to endure them all day… but you forgive them because your turns are also so strong and fun!  Turn and Burn! 

Dynastar Speed Omeglass 63 2005
Written by Ski Review Guest on 11/17

best ski i have ever been on

Dynastar Speed Omeglass 63 2005
Written by Ski Review Guest on 12/20

i have a pair of dynastar 64s and i am thinking of buying the 63s do you think i should or not, i cant make up my mind!!!! HELP

Dynastar Speed Omeglass 63 2005
Written by Ski Review Guest on 12/26

What radius turn do you want to make today? What radius turn do you want to make this INSTANT? You want to change the radius in the middle of a turn? Go ahead! This is one unbelievable ski. Just get a good night’s sleep the night before….......you’re gonna need it.

Dynastar Speed Omeglass 63 2005
Written by Ski Review Guest on 03/23

the speed 63s are most exellent for giant slalom.  they offer an incredible control of turns.

Dynastar Speed Omeglass 63 2005
Written by Ski Review Guest on 12/21

I just got 63s for my high school racing team.  They work great. Great for both GS and slalom.

Dynastar Speed Omeglass 63 2005
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/02

The 63 is def a sick ski.  It’ll hold through longer radius GS turns, and projects well, when making short radius slalom turns.  A day on them, and your knees’ll be torqued.  Best to spend some time in the gym, before letting them run full on.  I recommend heavy squats.

Dynastar Speed Omeglass 63 2005
Written by Ski Review Guest on 10/26

Got the 63 in 2005(see above). Still going strong! Demoed a lot of skis since then. Nothing compares. Nothing! Have never found the limit in cranking them over as far as I want. What a great-turning ski!!

Dynastar Speed Omeglass 63 2005
Written by E.FLOYD on 03/29

Skier Height:6 ft Skier Weight:205 Skier Ability:good Ski length Tested:172

Ski Review: 9yrs on 63 Speed STC - they don’t let you down.

Dynastar Speed Omeglass 63 2005
Written by Rob on 01/23

Skier Height:188cm Skier Weight:100kg Skier Ability:expert Ski length Tested:165cm

Ski Review: Still carve well but they wonder when i am going to turn next when going straight. I guesss tgey want to turn all the time.  Paid $12.50 bindings included. Haggled down from $25!  I hate Look bindings but could not walk away from the garage sale without them. Hahaha catch me if you can.

Add review of this ski.

Click "Login with Facebook" to track and share your reviews and comments, and skip the form filling below:

Login with Facebook

Latest User Reviews

Ski : Fischer C-Line Divine 2017

Which buy sports jerseys from china do you ever buy? Now
this one site for sale: authentic jerseys for sale

Ski : Atomic Metron B5 2007

Skier Height: 5’-7”
Skier Weight: 140 lbs
Skier Ability: Instructor
Ski length Tested: 162

Date today is Feb 17/18.  Just bought a pair of used white with black 162 B5is off CL today for $100.  Tuned the base and side edges then P-texed a...

Ski : Volkl Flair SC E 2018

Skier Height:5’5”
Skier Weight:160
Skier Ability:advanced
Ski length Tested:165

Ski Review:l Love this ski and just purchased it.  The moment I started gliding on the flats I felt its energy.  Holds a great edge with GS turns.  I did...

Ski : Blizzard Bonafide 2018

Skier Height: 5’7”
Skier Weight:  170
Skier Ability: Expert
Ski length Tested:  166

Ski Review:
A totally superb ski.  I wanted to demo a wide-waist ski and at 98mm underfoot this ski fit that bill.  The Blizzard Bonafide is a...

Ski : Volkl Racetiger SL 2018

Skier Height: 6’
Skier Weight: 160
Skier Ability: Expert
Ski length Tested: 160 cm

Ski Review:  Marvelous skis.  Not the quickest.  But once speed is built up, they become quicker, and absolutely rail carved turns.  Excellent edge grip. ...