Ski Reviews by Brand:

Ski Review

Ski News

Kastle MX88 2011

Fairpour takes Kastle’s MX88 out for some turns.

Kastle MX88 2011

Ski Statistics - Length (cm) / Sidecut (mm) / Radius (m)

158 / 128-88-113 / 15
168 / 128-88-113 / 17.5
178 / 128-88-113 / 20
188 / 128-88-113 / 22.5

Manufacturer's Description

The MX88 is a true freeride ski with unrivaled power,stability and control to handle every imaginable condition on the mountain.

Ski Review's Verdict:

I am 5’8’’, 145lb, level 9 and higher, moderately aggressive skier. I spend 65% of my time off piste (back side) and 35% on piste (front side) on the groomers and bumps.  My present skis are Volkl Mantra (177, 4 yrs old 130/94/116) mostly for west and Blizzard Magnum 8.7 (174, 128/87/113) for east coast skiing. I also use racing slalom and GS skis (volkl) and Rossi bump skis, on occasion.

Last week I demoed three pair of skis in Snow Mass. Co., Volkl Kendo (170cm, 127-88-109mm; R19.9), Salomon Sentinel (170cm- 129-9-121mm) and KastleMX 88, 168cm length (128-88-113mm; R17.5m). I skied each pair for approximately 2 hours and did exactly the same thing with all three: starting with groomers, then wind packed crud, then frozen chunky crud, then steep densely packed large bumps with zipper lines of descend and then super steep EX-EX tree runs off Sheer Bliss lift to the right. Below is the results of my experience:

I am not sure if I should write this because the pair I demoed were improperly tuned for all mountain ski : super sharp, flat base with 88-89 degree vertical edge angle from tip to tail) so that I had to be concerned with catching edges. It won’t do ski justice for me to express detailed opinion. However, here are a few things unrelated to tune that I noticed especially in comparison to Kendo: these were considerably heavier skis, felt damper/less reactive, skied longer than 168 cm. and had a different flex pattern. Kendo seemed softer in the front third, the shovel area, and then stiffened under the foot. Kastle felt stiffer (and narrower) in the shovel and evenly flexed more or less like a bow. I noticed exceptional quickness capability, edge to edge. Clean carve on groomer, good and stable on crud. Because of dangerous catchiness of the edges (bad tune) I did not risk it into steep tree runs. It could have pitched me in a bad time. I liked Kendo better but again I do not know how accurately discount the bad tune. Also, my familiarity with Volkl and Blizzard (the two are very similar) biases my senses especially to the different feeling that different flex patterns produce.

Real time prices for the Kastle MX88 2011, or similar ski products:

Reader Ski Reviews of the Kastle MX88 2011

Add review of this ski.

Click "Login with Facebook" to track and share your reviews and comments, and skip the form filling below:

Login with Facebook

Latest User Reviews

Ski : Elan Boomerang Tbt 2014

Skier Height:5’8’
Skier Weight:150
Skier Ability:interm/exp
Ski length Tested:? unsure

Ski Review: hard charging, rides steep & deep trees as well as rip fresh cord.

Ski : Salomon 24 GT Pro 2012

Skier Height:176 cm
Skier Weight:81 kg
Skier Ability: intermediate +
Ski length Tested:165 cm

Ski Review: best on groomed piste, stable at medium speed, but the tail vibrates at turns on high speed. tested in Mayrhofen area.

Ski : K2 Burnin Luv 2011

Skier Height:5’3
Skier Weight:135
Skier Ability:intermediate
Ski length Tested:147

Ski Review:This is a wonderful ski.  Although short it holds a great edge on long radius turns and is very stable at fast speeds, 
Unfortunately I got a...

Ski : K2 T:9 Phat Luv 2008

Skier Height:5’6’
Skier Weight: 160
Skier Ability: Expert
Ski length Tested: 146 cm

Ski Review: Demoed in 2009.  Have purchased this Lady Luv ski three more times new on line.  Cannot find them anymore.  Mogul skier - 50 - 60 days a...

Ski : K2 A.M.P Rictor 2012

Skier Height: 5’ 7”
Skier Weight: 185
Skier Ability: Advanced
Ski length Tested: 160

Ski Review: excellent ski, affordable price, great on groomed and wooded trails.