Ski Review : Home arrow Ski Reviews arrow Kastle arrow Kastle MX88 2011
Ski Review Logo
Ski Review
Ski News
Web Ski-Review.com

Kastle MX88 2011

Fairpour takes Kastle’s MX88 out for some turns.

Kastle MX88 2011

Ski Statistics - Length (cm) / Sidecut (mm) / Radius (m)

158 / 128-88-113 / 15
168 / 128-88-113 / 17.5
178 / 128-88-113 / 20
188 / 128-88-113 / 22.5

Manufacturer's Description

The MX88 is a true freeride ski with unrivaled power,stability and control to handle every imaginable condition on the mountain.

Ski Review's Verdict:

I am 5’8’’, 145lb, level 9 and higher, moderately aggressive skier. I spend 65% of my time off piste (back side) and 35% on piste (front side) on the groomers and bumps.  My present skis are Volkl Mantra (177, 4 yrs old 130/94/116) mostly for west and Blizzard Magnum 8.7 (174, 128/87/113) for east coast skiing. I also use racing slalom and GS skis (volkl) and Rossi bump skis, on occasion.

Last week I demoed three pair of skis in Snow Mass. Co., Volkl Kendo (170cm, 127-88-109mm; R19.9), Salomon Sentinel (170cm- 129-9-121mm) and KastleMX 88, 168cm length (128-88-113mm; R17.5m). I skied each pair for approximately 2 hours and did exactly the same thing with all three: starting with groomers, then wind packed crud, then frozen chunky crud, then steep densely packed large bumps with zipper lines of descend and then super steep EX-EX tree runs off Sheer Bliss lift to the right. Below is the results of my experience:

I am not sure if I should write this because the pair I demoed were improperly tuned for all mountain ski : super sharp, flat base with 88-89 degree vertical edge angle from tip to tail) so that I had to be concerned with catching edges. It won’t do ski justice for me to express detailed opinion. However, here are a few things unrelated to tune that I noticed especially in comparison to Kendo: these were considerably heavier skis, felt damper/less reactive, skied longer than 168 cm. and had a different flex pattern. Kendo seemed softer in the front third, the shovel area, and then stiffened under the foot. Kastle felt stiffer (and narrower) in the shovel and evenly flexed more or less like a bow. I noticed exceptional quickness capability, edge to edge. Clean carve on groomer, good and stable on crud. Because of dangerous catchiness of the edges (bad tune) I did not risk it into steep tree runs. It could have pitched me in a bad time. I liked Kendo better but again I do not know how accurately discount the bad tune. Also, my familiarity with Volkl and Blizzard (the two are very similar) biases my senses especially to the different feeling that different flex patterns produce.

Real time prices for the Kastle MX88 2011, or similar ski products:

Reader Ski Reviews of the Kastle MX88 2011

Add review of this ski.

Click "Login with Facebook" to track and share your reviews and comments, and skip the form filling below:

Login with Facebook

Name:
Email:
Location:
Remember my personal information:
Notify me of follow-up comments:
Ski Review:
Please answer the question below:
What colour is snow?



Ski Reviews by Brand:

4FRNT | Amplid | APO | Armada | Atomic | Black Crows | Black Diamond | Blizzard | Boheme | DPS | Dynamic | Dynastar | Elan | Faction | Fischer | Goode | Head | Icelantic | K2 | Kastle | Lacroix | Liberty | Line | Majesty | Movement | Ninthward | Nordica | Prior | Rossignol | Salomon | Scott | Stockli | Voile | Volant | Volkl | Wally | White Cristal | Zag

Ski Review.com - Copyright Starski 2003-2012 Privacy | RSS