Ski Reviews by Brand:

Ski Review

Ski News

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006

This is an interesting ski as it combines all mountain ski-ability with high performance carving, which is something I have always wanted. This may be the end for the need for 2 pairs of skis when you are on holiday.

Rossignol Zenith 9

Model: 126-74-105
Size(cm) / Radius(m): 154/11.9 162/13.3 170/14.8 176/15.9
Sidecut : 126-74-105
Length Tested : 162

Manufacturer’s Description:

Ski-Review’s verdict:

I have just come back from a ski instructors’ course in Fernie BC, Canada, and towards the end of the season I got the opportunity to ski on a pair of 162 Rossignol Zenith Z9s.

First of all, they look pretty awesome as those 126mm spades look up at you. Before I continue I have to point out that that day and for most of the season I had been skiing on a pair of Dynastar Omeglass 63s so my comparisons will be with this carvy slalom ski. The verdict after the first run was “these are pretty good” - much better than I was expecting. The thing that stood out the most about the Zeniths was their ease of use: by this I mean they will do almost anything you ask them to do and if you make a mistake 9 times out of 10 they won’t punish you.

A big thing I learnt on the course was “steering” my skis, which is a combination of edging and pivoting your ski in differing amounts. When skiing on the Omeglass you have to be careful with the edging portion because as soon as you get to a certain amount of edge that is it. You are on the rails. General skiing on the Zeniths on the other hand was just so easy mainly because steering is so easy and affective. They held an edge just as well as the Omeglass and yet seemed easier to carve despite their longer radius. I found while turning you could increase or decrease the size of the arc with the greatest of ease, whereas the Omeglass once they are on rails they are going to stay there. As you roll the Zeniths over on to their edge you can really feel the effect of that large waist i.e. your boot is well clear of the snow. In short radius turns I found the Zeniths better than the Omeglass purely because if you are not spot on with you timing and pressure control on any slalom ski the stiff tail of the ski will really kick you out of the turn which is good when you know it is coming and know what to do with it, but otherwise it just results in tips to the sky. The Zeniths on the other hand have very forgiving tails so when you pop off a few short turns you know you are always going to look and feel good doing it.

The Zeniths’ ease of steering and relative softness makes it an excellent ski in moguls. Despite Fernie’s reputation there was no powder that day, but with a footprint the size of the Zeniths’ and a good sized waist I am sure they will have no problems leaving ‘freshies’, although if you are expecting to ski a considerable amount of powder then I would go for a longer length. This is a high performance ski, but not a race performance ski. I felt this when I really pushed it: I felt as though I was reaching the ski’s limits whereas the Omeglass always feel like there is more. The only other time I felt I wanted the Omeglass back was in the crud as their substantial weight would plough through anything, whereas the Zeniths got a bit bumped around - not too much, but enough to notice the difference.
All in all this is a truly excellent all round ski and if you are like me and have a pair of skis for steeps and deeps and another pair for carving it up then the Zeniths are the ski to successfully combine the best of both worlds.

Real time prices for the Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006, or similar ski products:

Reader Ski Reviews of the Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 06/23

I like a lot the Z9 of Rossi ! Its a right ski who can give pure emition ...

Right Choice ... Rossi Power !

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 08/05

Who is this guy anyway.  He writes a novel about a ski that does not do any good on or off piste, and especially fails in deep powder.  Go buy a 724 Volkl or Atomic Metron (any series), and leave this guys novel to someone who wants to waste their time reading it.  Rossi’s blow this year!

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 08/18

I thought they were an incredibly stable and responsive ski. Iused them at Falls Creek on our Aussie snow, which is a lot wetter and heavier than most Northern Hemisphere snow That’s not to say that it aint good, believe me, it is ! This means we have to ski and work a bit differently than a lot of skiers from over the equator.

I currently ski the Rossi B2, and the K2 Apache X. I love my B2’s to death, but the Zenith were a really sharp stable ski, that simply did exactly as it was told and didn’t argue in the slightest.

They are nimble, easy to ski, strong and reliable. If I hadn’t just bought my X’s, I would DEFINITELY be more than interested in the Z9. I was extremely impressed.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 08/30

Just curious if any of the testers of this Rossi Z9 could share some insight into their size vs. the lenth of these skis. I’m considering buying a pair and have a hard time understanding how such a short ski can work for me. I’m 6’ tall and 190lbs. Thanks.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Dirk Ter Haar on 09/10

Hi i am the guy who wrote this review. To the guy wanting to know what lenght to get: i am about 5’11” and 165lbs and i ski on the 162s. As you are bigger than i am and by the sounds of things are more keen on longer skis i would say you should go for the 172s. As for the guy who wrote the comment titled Re:Zenith. The ski is excellent both on and off piste: that is what makes it so great. Yes i would have to say that in deep powder it doesn’t do quite as well but how many skis with a waste under 80mm do float well in deep powder? You are the first person i have come across who has taken such a dislike to this ski. Different skis suit different people and different techniques…..

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Dirk Ter Haar on 09/10

Hi i am the guy who wrote this review. To the guy wanting to know what lenght to get: i am about 5’11” and 165lbs and i ski on the 162s. As you are bigger than i am and by the sounds of things are more keen on longer skis i would say you should go for the 172s. As for the guy who wrote the comment titled Re:Zenith. The ski is excellent both on and off piste: that is what makes it so great. Yes i would have to say that in deep powder it doesn’t do quite as well but how many skis with a waste under 80mm do float well in deep powder? You are the first person i have come across who has taken such a dislike to this ski. Different skis suit different people and different techniques…..

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 09/11

I am 6’3” and 245 lbs. Rossi sent me the Z5 in a 170. I like to ski fast. Should I trade up to the Z9 and in what length?

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Dirk Ter Haar on 09/11

I haven’t skied on both but they look pritty similar. There might be some subtal differences. I think for the fun stay at 170 though.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 09/13

With the titanium sheet in the Z9 will it be more durable? I have a problem with breaking skiis that are not made of wood. Got a good deal on these Rossi’s.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 09/16

I am in the market for a set of new boards this year and last season I demoed the Z9, Z5 and the mentron.  I am a 6’ 200 lbs. expert who has to do a lot of carving while my 3 kids race and am in the bumps, steeps or trees when I am not with my mt’s race program.  I demoed the mentron at sugarbush and found it heavier and less responsive in the bumps than the Z9.  It was fast, carved real nice and skied more like a GS ski where the Z9 was quicker and closer to a SL ski but you could really push out a nice high speed carve. The Z9 was nimble and fun in the bumps and made quicker turns in the trees.  Maybe it is the weight difference which is quite noticable.  The Z5 was sluggish.  I took 2 runs on it and brought it back to the demo truck.  It seemed to be a dumbed down version of the Z9 and I wouldn’t waste my time or money on it.  I am having a tough time chosing between the Z9 and mentron and am leaning toward the Z9 but could be persuaded otherwise.  This month’s ski magazine gave it a good review but not the outstanding one I expected after my day with them.  I am all ears till the snow flies and look forward to hearing anybody elses test runs.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 10/04

So does anyone have an opinion between the LT11s and the Rossignol Zenith Z9s. The reviews for the Rossie on here seem to be very strong. Am 34, 6’2, 175”. Was thinking of going with the 180 in the Atomic or the 176 in the Rossignol.

Any thoughts?

Am an expert all around skier, love the trees (bumps not so much anymore thanks to the knees). I do not race at all but want something I can make zippy turns with on the hard packed and take into the crud, chutes, whatever the mountain throws at me.  Comments much appreciated.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 10/05

I had the pleasure of demos on both the Z5 and Z9 in Thredbo, Australia where the snow can range from very average to fantastic for a few days here and there. 

First of all, to “Re: Zenith Written by Guest on 2005-08-05 09:06:09”, where’s your justification bozo?  If you can’t at least offer constructive criticism you may as well go watch Oprah.  you sound like a competing sour graped sales rep to me!

I’m 172cm / 5-8” and 75kgs / 165lbs to the metrically challenged, and an agressive advanced-expert.  The Z5 is definitely a more versatile all terrain ski and unless wanting to carve at mach 1, they hold on just fine showing great stability on groomers, crud and wet Aussie ahemm “powder”, so unless you want to go steep and deeeep, these skis are just great.

The Z9 is a stiffer model and reminds of my ‘Dynie Speed Cross 66 on the piste - they just love going fast and feel as stable as my old ‘Dynie 197 Speed SFs on the groomers and ice - wow do they bite. They are stiff though, so not so forgiving in bumps, rough crud or cruising speeds.  I didn’t get to demo these in deeper snow but I’m guessing they’d float well enough as long as you’re willing to ski them hard and fast.

As for length you just have to demo to find out - remember the shorter they are the quicker the turn.  Shorter skis are easier off piste but get to the groomer ski out and longer ones are better for cruising - so compromise on length is needed for all mountain skiers.  Coming down from a 186cm I was tempted by the 176cm, but found 170cm was probably better for all round skiing.

If you like big turns and over 180cm / 6ft and 80kg / 180lbs, go for the Z5 in 170 - 176cm.  Otherwise go for the 170cm in the Z9 unless you’re one big unit and love going bloody fast when the 176cm might be preferable. 

In any event demo first, and enjoy!

Cheers Ben R - Sydney

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 10/19

Just purchased a season pass in Utah (senior discount ? I?m retired sowhatelseamIgoingtodo) and I wanted to update my skis.  I am ex-collegiate racer who worships good corduroy but still spends 20-30% of my time off-piste tracking up the pow.  Has anyone compared the Rossi Z9 to the Atomic B5?  If so, I would love to get your thoughts.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Brian Babcock on 10/21

There is a Metron B5 (Big foot print on and off piste) and the SX B5 (beefy Supercross model) Before jumping in and giving you any input that may influence your decision, I would want to know your weight, and maybe some of your past favorite boards. Ski choices are very subjective, and as this compilation of reviews and insults demonstrates, not evryone will be happy on a ski that the majority would choose for an individuals personal likes and technical ability. I must however include a comment for the “guest” who insulted the original comments on the Z9. If you find the review contrary to your personal test results, why not post something to that effect rather than insulting the person who obviously disagrees with you, and give us something more intelligent than “Rossis blow.”    Could it be that your alpine skills are on a par with your literary talents?

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 11/07

I’ve skiied Volkl P50, then Nordica SpeedMachine 12’s… I’m now considering the Nordica SpeedMachine 14’s (sold my 12’s).  BUT, have come across these Rossi Z9’s and am thinking… Hmmmmmm…  I’m 6’ tall, 200lbs, LVL 3 Instructor (CSIA)... I’ll likely stay at the 170 length… maybe 176… do you think it’s comparible?  May not be any time for me to demo before the season starts.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 11/20

Here is yet another opinion… hey, they’re free right?!

My skier type: Expert, semi-aggressive, 45 yr old, ex-patroller, occassional masters racing years ago.  Grew up skiing mostly Whistler and Banff area.  5’10”, 168lbs.  I’ve obviously skiied for years, but I’m slowing down a bit these days.  Still, I’m looking for a good all round ski for snappy, fun skiing off piste, fall-line bumps and cruising hard & soft groomers.  Basically ski everywhere at good speed and not get tossed.

The last couple weeks I tried a few skis at Loveland Basin in Colorado: - Rossignal Zenith Z9: 176cm - Atomic Metron M11: 172cm - K2 Apache Recon: 174cm - Volkl AC4: 177, 170cm - Volkl Supersport Allstar: 177cm - Nordica Hot Rod Top Fuel: 178cm

In the past I usually used a SL type ski. but that type in the bumps tends to catch the tails and/or be too springy which will tend to toss you out of the bumps.

At first I was leaning toward the AC4 177cm - liked the snappiness, and all-round feel.  But once the bumps stiffened up, the AC4s really started kicking.  A bit too much ski.  Going shorter to the 170cm lost the cruisability and gained a bit of hookiness.  Pretty much the same goes for the Atomic M11.

I decided on the Z9s.  They were very comfortable, silky cruising, quick edge-edge in the bumps and stayed quiet there.  I used the 176cm length, which was easy to handle everywhere.  No chance to try them on really hardpack or icy conditions, but in crud they seemed very nice.  At this length, cruising turns felt very GS-like, but still very nice in the bumps.  For me, I don’t see going any shorter, especially for top-bottom cruising.

My take on the Z9… sort of a cross between the Noridca Top Fuel and Volkl AC4.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Dirk Ter Haar on 11/22

Hi there I am the guy who wrote the review. I have just recently qualified as a CSIA Level3 and did the course on the Z9s. They are the ultimate “instructor ski” because they are so versitile, I would seriously recomend you get a pair as they will make all your demos spot on and when you aren’t teaching they will be awsome fun. You are taller and heavyer than i am and i am on the 162s so i would say 170 is about right. You will be getting them on a pro deal i assume so they aren’t going to cost too much so go for it!

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 11/24

Can anyone offer a little advise?

I’m looking at buying my first pair of skis, although I have been skiing now for about 4-5 season. I would class myself as a intermediate skier approaching advance.

I have been advised by a ski shop that I should be looking at either K2 apache crossfires or Rossignol Zenith Z9s (these were the models it stocked). At the moment I am considering these skis, but have also stumbled across K2 Apache recons or the Ros zenith Z5s (what is the difference between these and the pre stated skis as I have found these cheaper)

The type of skiing I do is predominantly pisted, but am starting to get the urge for the off piste stuff on the odd occasion (10-20%).

Finally, I’m 5’6” and am planning on skis of approx length 160, although was looking at the 162 for the Rossignols.

Any advise or recommendations would be greatly appreciated

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 11/26

Try all of them first. You don’t say where you ski or what type of turns you like, but once you try each ski you will know what is right for you. Don’t look at the price… Don’t let a few hundred bucks keep you from having fun for years to come in terms of advancement. A cheaper and/or wrong ski can make or break how much fun you can have. I drove the guys nuts in our ski shop. I demoed skis for 6 days to the tune of $300.00 and in the end they didn’t have the size I wanted. I ski at Sugarloaf and they were able to get the ski I wanted from another resort within the company. It was worth every penny and the wait. Good luck and have fun!

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 11/26

I forgot to add… the $300.00 demo cost was applied to my new skis.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 11/28

A follow-up post to my previous review on 2005-11-20.

Winter Park, CO.  Had a chance to try down-sizing from 176cm to 170cm on a mix of hard to boiler plate conditions, which softened after a couple hours.  Skied on both lengths this day too.

The 170s definitely wanted to turn as advertised… a SL ski.  Edge hold on longer GS arcs was not great, but I blame the poor tuning for some of that.  Comfort in GS arcs was not great for me, perhaps as I’m not used to such a short ski, they didn’t seem to track all that well.  Back to SL turns, they turned, turned, turned.

Back on the 176s all faith was restored.  No problems here mate.  At this length, you just change the label to “quick turning GS ski”, and you’re set.  Depends on what you want out of it.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 12/05

Not for everyone.  I demoed it and it was OK on hard pack (but no slolom ski) and in crud it was nothing great.  But my friend, who is of similar size and ability, demoed them the same day and loved them.  So I would definitely ride before you buy.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 12/08

Great comments from a number of posters.

To the poster who also owns the B2s, can you compare/contrast the two?.

I’m 5’8”, 150lb, advanced but not super-aggressive, live out east but ski mostly out west, 50/50 on/off piste, also like the occasional trip through the bumps.

Which of the B2 or Z9 would work best for me? Thanks

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 12/18

5’7” 150lbs. Which is better the Rossignol Z9 or K2 Apache Recon.  I do on and off piste, heli ski, bowls, bumps and groomers with the wife.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/08

I’m looking at the z9’s , an intermediate/advanced skier. 265lbs 6’2”. skiing vail for 4 days any recommendations on length or a better choice? Thank Matt

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/10

Was at a small New England ski area over Christmas.  The conditions were ice and slop.  Saw a demo tent and asked the guy for the easiest ski for a 44 year old above average skier that doesn’t want to work too hard or kill himself in this slop.  He said “try these dude!”.  Z9’s 170.  I’m 6-2 and 225.  Was truely the easiest ski I’ve ever used.  Been demo-ing ski’s the last 3 years and really loved these.  Great control over ice and slop and pretty decent speed.  Hope they work as well in nice groomed conditions and a suspect they will.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/13

I RENTED these skis at Okemo last wednesday, and WOW!!! Heavy snow, nicely groomed and I skied ALL day, even in the rain! I’m 5’4” 165 lbs and I was on the 162’s.  I usually ski a Rossi Bandit XX in powdery conditions and an intro Viper X in Ice, and I can see this ski doing both.  Loads of pop and EZ turning, wicked stable at speed.  I skied steeper terrain because I KNEW this ski was going to turn quickly for me to control my speed.  I WANT this ski!

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/17

Demo’d the Z9s over the weekend in the PA slop (Saturday 50 deg F) hard pack (Sunday 5 deg F) and powder/groomed Monday (after the snow guns did their work).  Not the best weekend (even for PA) but a great opportunity to check out the ski in a variety of conditions.  The ski performed awesome through all conditions, blowing through the crud and transmitting virtually no chatter on the PA “monkey balls.” Skis well as a carver as well as a quick popper; very responsive through it all.  As the guy at the shop warned I would, I bought it before the weekend was over.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/20

What lenght of Z9 to choose for me and my style ?

I am 28yrs old intermediate/advanced skier 5 11”, 171lbs and skied since i was 5yrs old on streight skis. I have not skied yet on shaped skies and in carving style. I feel comfortable at sking on 170cm STREIGHT skies but I am clueless how to apply that to shaped skies with my style of skiing. I like to ski agressivly with high speeds sometimes but I would like to also learn carving. What lenght of those Z9s would you guys recommend for ME knowing my style of sking and what i want to do with them. I think shorter skies at higher speed would not be as stable as longer once. I was thinking of 170 or 176 but I also want to carve the turns short and long once. Please advise. Thank you.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/21

From the same guy asking about the lenght. I am also considering buying Nordica Hot Rod Top Fuel. Please help

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/23

Over the last 12 years since the first parabolics appeared, I’ve never found any that delivered on the promise - I could get much better results out of an old pair of Dynastar Vertical 200s than Salomon CrossMax 10s (torsionally dire - you can hardly stand on them without them breaking away). I’ve tried various other skis (Salomon, Dynastar, K2, other Rossis) in recent years and always been disappointed, particularly with Salomons. This week I had the pleasure of trying some Z9s (largely on the strength of reviews here) and I’m happy to report that finally they got it right. These skis are just great. I was skiing all kinds of stuff - scrubbed ice, avalanche debris, choppy crud, deep powder, crust, bumps, trees and snowparks - and they delivered everywhere. I’m 5’9 and was using 176s, yet I had no problems in the bumps (the Chavanette in Avoriaz was a breeze). If I had to be picky, I’d say they’re not amazing in a straight line compared to straight planks (Kastle RX National Teams rock!) - still a bit twitchy over about 50mph.

I really can’t recommend them enough!

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/25

I am considering buying one of those two skies Z9 or Nordica’s Top Fuel. Anyone can tell me which one excels and why. I am 5 11, 170lbs, advanced skier but only skied on streight skies. I like to ski agressivly, fast and long turns but would love also quick turning short ski…i guess versatility is the theme with top speed. TF got all the rewards but based on reviews Z9 seems like a top dog. Please advise.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/26

I’m 6’3”, 190lbs and have tried the Z9 in both 170 and 176 at Mt. Bachelor, Oregon.  I found the 176 to be a bit long and would work like a GS ski for my weight.  With the 170’s I could easily turn the little moguls, and on sunny groomer day the only thing that held me back was the wind.  Did about 50,000 verticle of black and blue without getting the burn. Great ski.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/26

I am 15 years old- 5’ 5”, 140 lbs, ski black, double black, moguls, glades, groomed, and maybe a terrain park here or there.  Which ski is best for me???

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/29

i’m 5’8 150lbs.  i’ve never owned a pair of skies before and always rented my equipment from the lodge.  i consider myself an intermediate skier. i bought a set of the Z5s and WOW!!!  i instantly became a better skier.  i could go faster, turn sharper and balance better.  i have no idea if this ski is that good or the rental skis suck that bad.  i can’t thank the salesman enough for recommending this ski.  (BTW,  it’s nice to have boots that fit right too)

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/31

How do the Rossi Z9 compare to the Solomon Scrambler Hot + S912 Ti, sometimes called the “Hot Chillies” Both claim to be all-mountain.  I have tried both and can not decide which one to buy? Any Help

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/13

Just did 10 days in Panaroma BC (Canada) which was excellent. 3 small dumps of snow over the period

- Tried the Atomic M2 & M5 - so heavy they felt like lumps of lead in the bumps - and made my legs ache after just a few hours

- Changed to the Z9’s (I thought that they were 175’s) - what a blast! Carving was a dream - bumps were a pleasure - great in the shallow powder - regular piste was improved

Needless to say I bought a pair of the Z9’s and enjoyed my last few days of vacation on them.

For an intermediate to advanced skier (that’s me) - I would recommend them in a heartbeat

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/14

How would a Z9 at 170cm compare to the B4 at 168cm. I am looking at both models and would like some opinions from others who may have some advise.

B4 = 122/94/112 Z9 = 126/74/105

My primary use for these is in New England with 1 or 2 trips out west or Europe each year.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Dirk Ter Haar on 02/17

To be honest these skis are not realy very comprable, as one is an all mountain jack of all trades and the other is a specialist steep and deep ski. A difference of 2 cm would not be noticable. To offer more advise on which pair to choose you need to give more info on how and what you ski

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/22

i have been reading all of these comments because i am looking into buying the z9’s and i have no clue what you guys are talking about when you use the word piste. someone please help

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/26

Same here with what is piste.  I enjoyed reading all these great comments and reviews on the Z9’s. My guess is skiing piste (means skiing the run or staying on course) versus off-course.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/26

piste = A ski trail densely packed with snow.

off-piste = more fun

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/26

I am a 6’5” 235 lbs intermediate skier living in Japan. I have tried the Z5s in a 170cm, thought they were great, and am thinking of buying a pair. However, given my height and weight, I’m wondering if I shouldn’t go for the 176cm. Catch is that I can’t demo this here (few carving skis > 170cm are available in Japan). My question: will there be a big difference between the 170cm and the 176cm in this ski? As things stand since I liked the 170cm it seems I can’t go wrong with that. However, is there such a thing as shorter skis being more fun but offering less room for growth and improvement as a skier? Any comments appreciated.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/26

6.5 and 235lbs living in Japan, you must stand out!!!

176 with out a doubt

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 03/01

> 6.5 and 235lbs living in Japan, you must stand out!!!

Yes, I don’t exactly blend in!

In considering ski length for skis like the Z5s, I think I’m hampered by my previous experience with pre-carving skis—psychologically I feel a ski that is 20cm or more shorter than me has to be too short! But actually skiing on 170cm Z5s, I really can’t say I noticed any problems at all…

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 03/06

I am 6’2” and 200 lbs, advanced skier and pretty aggressive. I demo’d the Z9 in 170 cm on Blackcomb as I was on a pair of K2 Apache Recons (174cm) which were complete dogs. I found that they were outstanding, fast, stable, well damped, but plenty of rebound out of a turn. Great edges and really ‘think turn and do it’ quick edge to edge. good in the trees and fun in the varied conditions (hard piste, old crusty powder between the trees, crusty deep powder on Jersey Cream Bowl wall). I had a huge grin for the rest of the day and booked to try the 176 cm which I think I need at my height/ weight/ agreesion. Unfortunately I never got to the 176 cm because I tried a pair of Volkl All stars 175cm on the my last few days and they were just so awesome that I did not want to waste any skiing time demoing anything else.

Anyway to answer your question because it is annoying when people do not: I would go for the 176cm at your height and weight.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 03/09

I am 5’7” 155lbs intermediate to advanced skier who stays mainly in the east on groomers and ice.  I make the occasional pilgrimage west but have found very young children to be an impediment to that!  I will ski bumps and trees and more advanced terrain when the conditions are good and want to get a ski that will be suited to my ability and where I ski but will also stay with me as I get better (hopefully).  Any thoughts on which ski, or another possibly.  Thanks in advance.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 03/15

I found the Z9’s a bit too soft.  As an aggressive skier who like to turn, I felt the VS oversized was a better ride and have been happy on 173’s (5’ 10” 200 lbs).  They are great for CA skiing, especially in the packed snow.  I haven’t had much trouble in fresh powder, or bumps. I feel the z9’s are better for an advanced skier, but an aggressive type might prefer the VS OVersize

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 03/15

I am 6ft. 180 and bought Z9’s last spring when they came out. 170 was not being made at the time so I nervously went 162.  Couldn’t be happier this is the one ski that does it all well.  My ski team son gave them a try and immediately started begging for a pair.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 03/20

Just came back from Stowe Vt where I spent three days in varied conditions.  I set out to pick a new ski and retire my old faithful dynastar straight skis.  I am a good skier and used to ski very agressively but I am slowing down a bit with age.  Still I like a challenge and the steeper the better.  I think in the three days I tried every freeski or carver they had. There was plenty of ungroomed powder early on and then when the cats got up the hill a combination of groomed pack and or windblown scraped ice.  I liked the Volkl Superstar at first but it was like a cadilac heavy and too stable.  Finally I tried the Z9 and I was hooked.  This ski turns so sweet and holds a edge like nothing I have ever skied.  It seems to thrive on the groomed trail but float nice on the powder. I am 5’9” and 190lbs and settled on 162 which is shorter than I normally ski.  But the extra quickness was pure fun.  Warning, if you demo these you will want them.  I came home with a pair and can’t wait to get back out there.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 03/21

I just demo’d both Z5 & VS Oversize Ti’s this past weekend. I am a 46 yr old technical carver. The demo “dude” set me up with the VS’s in a 158 (I’m 5’ 10”, 200 lbs) I said are you sure ? he said if you love to carve - you’ll love them. To tell you the truth the 1st 2 runs were very simillar to my Rossi Viper Z 9.3s - Then a light went off - I took a couple more runs and found I was on fire w/ short radius turns ! Then I tried a pr of Z5s - 170.  I was disappointed as I had my eye on these ones and was not even aware of the OSs. Maybe it was the 170s vs the 158s but if you love to carve - I’d suggest you give these OS a try if you’re an Eastern Cda hard packed skier. The tips on the Z5 were almost distracting they were so big.

PS Has any one demo’d the Salomon Streetracer 10s ? Tks & keep your tips up!

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 03/27

I’m 6’3”/195lbs, and have been demoing various skis this year trying to decide on my first pair of sticks in 12 years. I’ve been on the Apache Recon(174 and 181cm) and Outlaw (174), Rossi B2 (174 and 182), Volkl 5-Star (175), and just yesterday on the Z9 (176). I have to say they were just splendid in Keystone’s (CO) spring conditions. GS carves, short old-school christies, bumps, and even the skied-out Outback glades were a blast. I’d love to try them in more mid-season powder, but they did everything I asked and didn’t buck once.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 03/27

Just returned from Sun Valley where I demo’d skis for 4 days.  This Rossi really turns on hard pack.  Unbelievable tight turns for grooming or racing.  But…., can’t do powder or curd.

If you like to carve wide turns on groomers, this is the ski for you.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 03/27

I skied the Z9 last Friday at Mt. Bachelor outside of Bend, OR.  12” of day-old powder in the bowl and this ski went through it like a hot knife through butter.  I only did a few groomers on the ski, but the ease of turning was amazing.  Lastly, the moguls off of the Northwest lift and Snapshot in particular were a joy with this ski.  I am actually going to buy a pair this week.  It was GREAT on groomed, decent on the moguls, and excellent in the powder.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 04/05

I am 179cm /64 kg skiing in greece!! skiing level upper intermmediate /advanced and thinking to buy the z9. Could you pls comment on the size? Should I go for the 170 or 162??

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 04/10

Where,and when is the best place to buy some last/this years Z9’s for next year ?  How much money?

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 05/25

Anyone out there compared the Z9 to the Fischer RX8?

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 07/27

I am skiing the 9x oversize at 167cm.  Off piste, moguls, trees, cruising.  Want to upgrade to B5 or Z9.  Not sure what size to get int he z9 170 or 162 (seems alot shorter than what I have).  I can turn the 9x (17 radius) in the trees and moguls but I dont get any float in the powder.  With the z9 170 I would get more float but I wouldnt want to give up any turning w/the 162.  Also I skiied a friends Atomic m11 seemed a bit squirrely at high speed so I am a bit scared of the Atomics.  Can someone please, please, please help me.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 09/02

Been skiing on Z9’s for 11 days now and have used them on ice, hardpack, corduroy groom, soft, and kneedeep powder. I’m 6’3/190cm, 200lbs/93kg, advanced/expert skier. I got a great deal on my Z9’s but unfortuneatly they only had them in 162 length. Having said that, the shorter length was hell of a lot of fun and the shorter radius turns were crazy! If you push the ski you can get a bit of kickback, but on the whole they are forgiving. In the Powder was were the length let me down… was quite hard work on the thighs due to the shorter length. Anyone about my size would be better with the 170cm length. Found the ski a bit light thru crud and they tend to float at high speed if you don’t pay attention. On the whole I found them to be like guided missiles on the slopes… just think where you want to go and they’ll take you there at a very quick speed! Tried Atomic B5’s last season… found them to be perhaps slightly more allround skis, but not as fast and they felt a lot heavier.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 09/05

I loved the Z5. I do not ski moguls (too much work). I tend to cruise.  I’m always looking to get a good kick out of the turn. How would Z9 compare wih the Z5’s?

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 09/06

Demoed both.  Totally different skis.  RX8 is a race carver, and narrow wasted.  Much more fun on hard snow.  May not be as versitile.  Not a fan of the Z9.  Does not ski well in crud, which surprised me.  Skier going from a 9s to a Z9 is going to be very disappointed.  Demo first.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 09/08

Thanks all for sharing your experiences. They helped me finalize my decision. One place everyone in the US and Canada should consider is Al’s Ski Barn. (www.untracked.com) I found the Z9 in 170cm I was looking for at a lower price than any area shop, with no tax and free shipping. Skis arrived in perfect condition 2 days after I placed my order. Now I can’t wait to try them out.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 10/27

I’m hesitating…I ski up in Quebec where deep powder is as rare as warm temperature in the winter.  90% hard packed.  BUT, I travel once a year to Utah where I can find real snow.  I’m hesitating between the RX8 and the Z9.  I currently own Atomic GS9 in 170.  What would you suggest? I’m an expert skier btw.  Thanks for your help.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 11/12

If anyone can help me to choose beetwen those two sizes. I am 192 cm (cca 6’4”) and 100kg (cca 200lbs). I like a short turns, not so speed. But sometimes I like to go a little bit faster. What can be problem with a shorter version? I am a good skier. Sorry for bad english and thanks on any kind of help.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 12/24

Do only men read this board?  I’m a woman, 6ft 135lbs, and just had two of the best ski days of my life on the z9s.  I am RUNNING out to buy them.  I believe I have the 176cm length, but might be the 170… they were pushing the 170 on me in the shop but I think I convinced them I wanted longer—I prefer cruising and at my light weight I need length to help me get speed.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/03

I?m looking for some recommendations that can help me wade through all of the marketing BS.  Right now I?m considering the Rossignol Zenith Z9, Dynastar Contact 11 & the Fischer RX8. 

I?m 39 years old, 5? 6? and weigh about 145 lbs.  I mainly ski at Mt. Hood & Bachelor in OR, but still make trips to UT and CO.  Currently I?m skiing on some bump skis that are old skinny skis ? Dynastar Assualt at 180cm.  Previous ten years where spent on some slalom race skis ? K2 KVC 195cm. 

I?ve just started bringing my toddler out on the mountain and consequently spend much more time on groomed runs than bumps ? not to mention that my body just can?t take a day of the bumps like it once could, but bumps are still my favorite thing to ski.

I?m really looking for an all mountain ski that is great at short radius fall line turns.  I want a fun, lively ski with lots of rebound and great in the bumps.  I probably spend 50% of my time on groomed runs, 30% on bump runs and 20% doing some bowl skiing. 

I?m generally not a fan of making GS turns, but it seems that?s all you can do on the flats so it would be nice to have a ski that is competent in that area.  I know it?s tough to get it all, but ideally I?d love to have one ski that could also be used comfortably in crud and even on a few powder days.  Am I asking for too much?

Does anyone have any recommendations between these skis or maybe another that should be on my list.  Also a recommendation on the appropriate size of ski would be helpful.  Thanks!

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/05

What an amazing ski.  Great feed back and total control at any speed.  Responsive through the moguls and no chatter through the crud.  Yes there is some tail kick if you choose to exit turns that way, but fun to use to your advantage to throw yourself into the next one.  Or liesurely drift your turns or put them up on edge at speed.  This ski does everything I hoped it would.  Unfortunately I have not had the opportunity to ski true deep powder yet and only used them through the glades in about 5” of powder.  This ski does all I would hope for, but I found it does want to go fast.  The only option was to oblige the ski and open it up like a sports car! I have been skiing for 30 years and I am 5’7” 155 lbs.  162 length.  All mountain skiier.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/31

The pair of Rossignol Z9s I have are by far the best ski’s I have skied on. I’m an advanced skier and first started using these skis when I was on course for my CSIA level 3. Let me just say, amazing change in performance. The increased stiffness of the Z9 is perfect (in my opinion) for the advanced skier who loves bumps or short radius. In short radius the rebound the ski will give you when edged properly will easily propel you into the new turn, getting your ski across the fall line that much quicker, which means you can execute more turns quicker. This translates perfectly into the bumps. When I was skimming through the comments, I noticed several from beginners and intermediate skiers asking if this is the right ski for them. The Rossignol Z9 will give you performance at any level, however all but advanced skiers will not use the potential of the ski. I?m 6?4? and 190 lbs, and I also do training for my skiing, so I find I?m able to bend the ski enough to get the performance I need out of it. However, other skiers, for instance my dad, at 5?9? and around 170 lbs finds that the Rossignol Z5 is a much better ski for him, as it requires less work to bend the ski due to less stiffness.  So my advice would be, if you?re not an advanced skier, you?re more likely to find more results from a ski like the Z5, rather then the stiffer Z9. Remember, ski shops usually try to over sell their patrons, putting you on skis that are more then you need as they have a bigger price tag. My main suggestion is to try demoing many skis from different manufacturers, the Z9s worked for me, but might not for you.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/02

I am 5’7” and 155/160lbs and an east coast skier. I ski Winter Park for 2 weeks a year on B1 Bandits 170cm. I know these Z9’s are dank skis, however the 176cm intimidates me and not sure these will be too fast and less control for me. I am an advanced skier, black diamonds no problem. I like speed, controlled speed, less moguls but some are fine and I like control. Also, love tree runs and cruising. I am 38, skied since 13 and never broken and bones and want to stay that way.

How is the control of these 176cm over the 170cm? and as compared to the 170 B1 Bandits?

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/10

Wow! (Sorry but Wow!) Written by Ski Review Guest on 2007-01-05 05:27:15

I have had a chance use the ski in every condition, including some ice and the ski has not disappointed me.  The only advice I have is that in order to ski this ski to its potential you better be in shape. As a couple of entries ago puts it, he trains for skiing.  I run cross country and mountain bike in the off season.  The stiff tails really push back and will wear you out in a hurry if your legs are not in shape.  The confident feel those tails give you when the ski is on edge and you cut hard at speed is a feeling I have not had on any other ski.  Demo it and you will see for yourself.  I am a lighter skier and can still get the ski to flex no problem at all.  I would recommend the Z5 if you do not have a regular fitness program as it may not work the legs as hard.  However, I feel the effort demanded by the Z9’s is worth the difference.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/19

I classify myself an intermediate skier. I?m 47, skied on and off since I was 18.  I?m in very good shape, I?ve been playing ice hockey all my life and an average of twice a week all year around. I live on the east coast with access to groomed conditions locally where I do all my skiing and I?ve recently started toying with Nastar and really enjoy the challenge in my Dynastar Agyl 9?s (classified a recreational ski).

I?m looking to get into a better ski but most everybody I speak to advises against a full out racing ski. Generally speaking the common thread in advice is that a racing ski is considerably more unforgiving than what I currently have and probably too big a step for me at this time.

That said, and assuming the advice I received is sound, would a ski like the Mutix be a good compromise or still out of my league? Perhaps a Z5 or Z9?

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/27

I was in Risoul and had them from rental, 154cm, they were just great. Before for 3 days Dynastars but…comparing to Rossignol they were shit. For me the best skies I had, since a long time

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by hubercats on 03/03

Hi, I am 53 years old and into my 2nd year of skiing. I’m 5’11” and weight 220 lbs. Though a bit heavier than I’d like I consider myself to be in better than average shape for my age.  I played ice hockey (a lot) up until age 50 at which point I decided to switch to downhill skiing. I purchased a pair of Salomon Streetracer 7 skis which I used last year (9 days) and continue to use this year (14 days). They are 160 cm long. I feel comfortable on the Streetracers but there is one thing I really don’t like about them - they are very unstable on high speed, straight runs. Hence I’ve decided to try something new. I want the ability to ski groomed runs but on occasion I like to get into deeper snow with some moderate moguls. This has led me to consider all mountain skis. Also, I’ve been restricting my selection to Salomon, Atomic and Rossignol because I can get a very good deal on those brands. I mostly ski on groomed runs in the Pacific Northwest (Stevens Pass mostly). Perhaps from my hockey past I find I really enjoy making lots of quick turns which the Streetracers seem quite good at. Many of my friends comment that, for good or bad, I ski like I play hockey - crouched down low as if ready to be hit by someone or something. I find such a stance allows me to handle the occasional unexpected bump rather well. Recently I tried a demo pair of Rossignol 178 cm B2 skis. I found them to be somewhat sluggish in turns (not surprising given length increase). On the positive, I also found them to be very stable on fast, straight runs. The guy who rented the B2’s to me suggested that next time I try Rossi Z9 skis in a 170 cm length. The reviews I have read on Z9’s are very positive which makes me inclined to give them a try. Any guidance on the following questions is much appreciated:

1. Is the Z9 likely to be too much of ski for someone like me to handle? I think I’m a pretty competent intermediate skier.  Would I be better off with the 162 cm or 170 cm length?

2. What skis made by Atomic and Salomon most closely match the Rossi Z9 skis?

Thanks in advance!

 

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 03/21

I’ve got a pair leaning up against the wall waiting for it to snow in Australia (Falls Creek).  Reading these reviews has made me feel better about my 40th birthday present.  Thanks for all the pos reviews.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/02

Both myself and a friend demo’d both these lengths before buying. 

We both bought the 176cm, skied them for 2 years and never once regretted the ski or length choice. 

We are both expert skiers and close in weight range: 175-180lbs, 5’10”-6’ tall.

The skiis are definitely not what we would call stiff, but a nice even flexing ski.  They have a lot of shape to them, so maybe going for the longer length calmed that down somewhat.  I think the 176cm has somewhere near a 18 meter radius… which is still plenty tight.

The 170s didn’t quite hold (too soft and short) at eye bleeding speed. 

The quickness of the 176cm is still surprising in the bumps.  On anything but ice, these are really a blast (but then, I despise ice… who doesn’t?).

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by mark on 01/05

I am looking at buying and could use some help trying to cut through the sales BS. I walked off my 12 year old straight skis about 2 years ago and have been renting and I am tired of low performance rental skis.  I am leaning to the rossi z9, yet was just shown a pair of fisher rx9’s and the rossi rpm series. Generally ski east of the mississippi with at least one trip out west each year.  I need a good all mt. ski that I can continue to grow into am an advanced skiier, with hope of becomeing better as my to young children continue to push me.  Any help?  rossi z9, rossi rpm, fisher fire 8, fissher rx9.  I ski a 160 165.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/24

Anybody have a good back-up for the Z9?  I’m a 6’1”, 225lb, all-mountain skier and prefer to demo skis than lug them on the plane for only 5-10 days of skiing a year.

I have a blast every time I ski the Z9s but would like to have a back up ski to try.  Which ‘08 models have an equal fun factor?

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by MarkSkiGuy on 01/27

Very interested in Z9’s.  Great feedback here.  But I’m hearing a lot about the stiffness of the Z9’s tails, “they push back at you”, “they kick back quite a bit”, “they’ll really work you hard if you’re not in shape”, etc., and I don’t understand what you mean by this.

I remember sking long stiff GS skis before the shapes came out.  (What were they thinking back then?)  I eventually ended up spending most of my time in trees, bumps, chutes, etc., where the GS’s would just wear me out.  They obviously were not suited to turn quickly and I had to forceably ‘skid’ or push the tails around or hop turn to make any sort of short turn.  And with the length and stiffness they didn’t really want to have the tails pushed around and it was really work.  I remember wanting to cut the tails off about mid-day.

So what, exactly, are you trying to do that the stiffness of the tails is preventing you from doing and/or why is the stiffness wearing you out?  Is it like my experience with the GS’s?  ie; a softer ski will give and let you push the back end around.  A stiffer ski’s tail will dig in and not let you push it around.  But then with these skis turning so quickly and sharply, I wouldn’t think you would need to do that anyway.  My experience on the shaped skis is that I don’t have to do that any more. 

I’ve demo’d several different shaped skis with different stiffnesses and can really tell the difference when sking in trees & bumps.  The stiffer ones are much less forgiving and I again found myself wanting to saw 6 centimeters off of the stiff 176’s I was on.  Is this what you are talking about?

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by MarkSkiGuy on 02/02

Answered my own question last night, I think.  Demo’d the Z9’s and the Z11’s.  Z11’s are a bit stiffer.  Didn’t notice this “tails pushing back at me” on the z9’s but did on the stiffer Z11’s.  When you put a softer ski on edge, it flexes more and so does not dig in as well.  A stiffer ski will not allow as much flex in the tail and tip when you put it on edge so it will dig into the turn more and you will feel this.  This stiffness provides higher performance as well.  I found the Z11’s to be a little more responsive than the Z9’s.  Took some getting used to, but in the end, I liked the Z11’s better for really aggressive stuff.  Either ski is a great ski.  Both are an absolute blast!

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by MarkSkiGuy on 02/02

To the guy asking about a backup for the Z9’s. The Z11’s are stiffer and you can push the envelope farther with them. But I also demo’d the Atomic Nomad Crimsons last night.  They are wider than the Z9/Z11’s.  Also, the Z’s were 170cm, the Crimsons were 176cm.  Being wider and longer, I expected them to turn like aircraft carriers.  Wrong.  They are still very tight performers, but won’t turn quite as tightly as the Z9/Z11’s.  However, in deep snow, they stay on top better than the Z’s because of the added width.  Also, when making very tight turns in deep snow on steep slopes, I noticed that the Z9 & Z11 would “side slip” a bit downslope.  The added width of the Crimson caused it to stay on top of the snow and did not side slip downslope at all.  It really held onto the slope.  I really want to try the Crimsons in some fresh western snow.

I’m 5’11”, 190 lb.  In deep snow, the 170cm Z9/Z11’s felt a bit short.  The 176 Crimsons felt just right.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/03

i skiied the z9’s at lake louise for a day and as much i thought they were a great carver on hard packed snow, i thought they were awful through the crud and off-piste. i am an advanced skiier yet i just didnt feel confident in the ski. i own a pair of head monster 77’s and much prefer these over the z9’s as an all-mountain ski.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 04/08

Have just skiied a Rossignol test day in Saint Gervais, France where I live.  I’m 6’ 185 kilos and a good intermediate, though not ‘technical’ about skis. Currently use B2’s and was looking for skis with more bite for piste only next season. Tested a Radical (for hard pistes only and so a nightmare in our softish conditions). Then the Z11 176cm with stiffest – orange – arms. Then a Rossignol Match I think at 185cm which felt very close to my B2’s albeit heavier.

The Z11’s shone for me. Like a bulldozer on each foot (heaviest skis I’ve ever lifted and I handle a lot of hire skiis for visiting friends). However you don’t feel the weight on the piste and the confidence and cutting turns you can make with these are amazing. Anything else like snow piles gets in your way… run them over!

They’re going to work me more than the B2’s but that’s what I’m now looking for. Plus I’m expecting, excellent for the many icy days we have here.

Will still use the very-easy-to-live-with B2’s particularly in fresh snow and slush.

Since this is a Z9 area, sorry I can’t compare (wish now I had tried Z9’s alongside…didn’t know my numbers at the time). Anyone apart from Markskiguy who has compared Z9 vs Z11 please post. Bon ski!

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 12/16

Hi folks.  So I would call myself a aggressive inter/advanced skier who is all about the on piste, who also thrives on powder but hates trees. I ski in quebec and northern vermont.  im 6"3 200lbs and currently ski on race stock 181 rossi 9x gs skis.  I love those skis but they are done now, just done and no fun.  im now looking at a much more stable midfat high speed all moutain carve ski.  I demoed the z3 last year and fell in love with them for the day of powder I had.  However I found they just couldnt handle the high speeds, and im pretty positive the 176 z9 is what I want.  my main dillema is that I do not have the cash to haul out for a new pair and was wondering what the shelf life of these may or may not be.  Now having bought alot of high quality used skis in the past Im well aware of the standard checks.  Has anyone had these skis for a season or two and skied the shit out of them?  and if so are they still giving back ?  any other opinions about skis I might like welcome as well- im rolling around the metron and the tigershark or sl oversize radicals   much thanks !

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/05

Hey guys,  I’m a CSIA L1 instructor and ex Canadian Ski Patrol.  I had an awesome first day with the new ski’s.  I’m teaching my nephew to parallel and found the Z10’s handled better for teaching than my old all mountian expert Atomic R9-B4’s.  I’d say these are a good instructor ski as I was doing lot’s of drills and plowing and soft sloppy turns.

I got a few good chances today today to put the ski through it’s paces.  This board loves to carve and eats up short radius turns.  If you drive the front of the ski it just gives back more and more. 

My nephew had to pee so I got a good run on a black diamond with fresh snow over ice and it handled the transitions between snow and ice very well.  I felt very confident on this ski all day and it handled everthing I drove it through. 

I definately need to put some mileage on these boards and find their limits.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/17

great ski! i have been skiing rossi z9 at alyeska this season. great carving ski, and easy to modulate the turn radius , once you get used to the ski. also, the ski works pretty well in boot deep powder and crude. quick turns in the steeps. it is a one ski quiver from front side groomers to north face chutes it works well.

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 03/07

Have just skied the Z5’s in France and loved them - does anyone out there know how the Z7’sor Z9’s compare/differ. I am now ready to buy and was going to look for the Z5’s. Also what is the best size? I am 6’ and 185lbs. Thanks

Rossignol Zenith Z9 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 06/13

I’ve had a pair of z9’s for about four years now and IMO the only thing they don’t do AT ALL is Eastern ice:  Man, if you like getting thrown, this is the ski for you. 

When I first got the ski it had all the pop in the world, but last season it seemed to be sluggish and difficult to engage… Does anyone know about how long this ski should last?  I ski maybe 20 to 30 times a year.

Add review of this ski.

Click "Login with Facebook" to track and share your reviews and comments, and skip the form filling below:

Login with Facebook

Latest User Reviews

Ski : K2 Apache Recon 2007

Thanks in support of sharing such a nice idea, post is good,
thats why i have read it entirely
Website: http://herb24.space

Ski : Dynastar Pro Rider 2017

Skier Height:186cm
Skier Weight:96kg
Skier Ability:expert
Ski length Tested:192

Ski Review: The Dynastar Pro Rider Factory 192 is one awesome ski, fast, solid and inspires confidence where ever you ski it..Tackles anything you throw at...

Ski : Fischer Kehua 2007

Skier Height:  6 ft
Skier Weight:  157
Skier Ability:  adv
Ski length Tested:  180

Ski Review:  I started using these for ski school work after finding them 2nd hand at a shop….and I was kind of surprised by how—-even though they felt...

Ski : Stockli Rotor 106 2011

Skier Height: 6’
Skier Weight: 155
Skier Ability: Advanced
Ski length Tested: 3 months - Current All-Mountain ski

Ski Review: I picked this up recently, second hand, and used it for the second half of the season. I probably have 200k...

Ski : Fischer KOA 80 2017

Skier Height: 5’ 4”
Skier Weight: 128
Skier Ability: intermediate
Ski length Tested: 152

Ski Review:  I found these skis to be right for me. I could control them with their light weight, turned well even in icy conditions.  Are very...