Ski Reviews by Brand:

Ski Review

Ski News

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006

Grip is the name of the game!

If you like to roll your skis over on to edge and just ride the rails then the Supersport 5 Star is definitely for you.

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006

Model: Supersport 5 Star
Size(cm) / Radius(m): 154/12.1 161/13 168/14.4 175/15.9 182/17.5
Sidecut : 114-68-99
Length tested: 168

Manufacturer’s Description:

”The 5 Star is the original Supersport - the ski that started it all. Now featuring Double Grip construction, the 5 Star gives advanced and expert skiers an incredible range of all-mountain performance. It features a narrower 68mm waist and slightly softer flex than the Allstar.”

Ski-Review’s verdict:

I was skiing mainly in hard-pack artificial snow, which at the best of times is difficult to hold a strong edge on.  Nevermind though—the Supersport 5 stars just left 2 devastatingly deep tram lines where ever pointed them.

The major drawback of a heinous amount of grip is that when you don’t need it, it is still there, getting in the way.  Tight moguls, when you want to be turning the ski pretty darn quick, the Supersport’s edges are going to be biting whether you like it or not.

Part of how the Supersport 5 Star achieves this awesome grip is through the very stiff tails—quite hard work when you don’t want to be riding the rails.

On the whole though, the Supersports were comfortable in most situations and I was never under the impression I had ‘maxed them out’.

I wasn’t however, very impressed when the Marker bindings pre-released on a particularly high loading corner. I had the DIN settings at the same level as normal and there was no snow on my boots.  I think that perhaps there is a certain plane which, the Markers aren’t particularly strong on.

In conclusion if you favour high performance turns on groomed terrain with a bit of all mountain exploration then the Supersport 5 Stars or similar should be on your consideration/demo list.

Real time prices for the Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006, or similar ski products:

Reader Ski Reviews of the Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 10/10

I find the 5 Stars fine in the moguls. Yes the tail is relatively stiff, but its an even flex, so its just as stiff as the rest of the ski.

If you find the edges always biting then get off them and get the ski flat.

And about the Marker bindings pre-releasing, i would have a tech check the binding was set up correctly as in 3 years of selling and riding the Motion binding system i haven’t received or had once complaint. If anything they reduce pre-release.

This ski does rock, and is a great all round ski!

big dan

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 11/05

With Rottefella R8 on a 4.5cm plate and stiff boots, this is the most fun I have ever got out of a ski.

If your knees can’t take the preassure, I’d try a GS ski for the powerful piste skier.

The stiff tail makes them useless in the moguls and the pow (for telemarkers), but its worth getting another pair for that.

Obs! pamper your edges every few days to enjoy them at full potential.

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 11/16

If you want a single pair of skis that can handle a range of skiing AND a ski that is simply a thrill to rip, you should definitely consider the 5 Star.  With the 5 Star, you finally have your cake and eat it too.

The ski is fun in the bumps, rips through groomed runs, blasts through crud and its holds in own in powder too.  Oh, and did I mention it is has tenacious grip on ice and hard pack.

Do yourself a favor and check these out—You won’t be disappointed.

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 11/24

i purchased these ski’s in a 168, i’m 5’9 190 and they came with the non oil piston lt easy step marker binding. i’m taking them back to have the piston bindind put on.

the dealership equipment buyer told me he demoed the 5* with the piston and felt that they were sluggish and lacked the liveliness that the ski has with the motion lt binding. he said all the 5 stars that go out the door in his store have the lt binding. they said they would have to special order the at motion.

however, three other stores sell the 5* with the at motion and told me not to get the ski without it.

there seems to be two camps, those who like the oil piston and those who don’t.

am i getting bs because they have to special order?

please give me some feedback, these ski’s are not cheap, and i want the best setup i can get despite the motives of sales people.

thanks greg

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 12/07

finally after 3 years someone agrees about the marker bindings, here is a certain angle that does not suit them, and i never had much confidance in landing jumps. not a match for my old S810’s

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 12/15

I am an expert who skis a lot of steeps - powder, crud, moguls.  I found them fair in powder - not wide enough to really float, not tough enough to handle heavy crud, and sluggish in the bumps.  At high speed on packed they were really squirrely.  In general, though, I wasn’t ready to chuck them until I had a problem with them.  The top cosmetic plate on one of them became so severely cut that I could see all the way down to the edge (took a chunk out of the ski).  I don’t know how it happened, but Volkl would not replace them. 

Anyway, while I was waiting for Volkl to determine what they would do, I demoed the K2 apache recons.  For what I ski, the recons are a much better fit - Absolute tanks in the crud, floaty in powder, and given that I am extremely aggressive in the bumps - still a good match there as well.  I find packed powder too boring anyway, but I find the ski does fine there as well (but I grew up night skiing back east, I got so that I could plant an edge riding on a dull 2X4)

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 12/23

I am an advanced beginner…steeps are a nervous adventure.  I had the pleasure of putting on the five stars during a demo day at the local slope.  WOW!!!!!  I felt pleasure beneath my feet at a controlled 25 mph!!!  No words to describe but NEAT!!!

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 12/28

Had the same early release several times at Din 7. My resident expert pointed out that the forward pressure indicator had not been properly set. Set this and continued to ski at din 6. Have not released since. CHECK YOUR FPI !!

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 12/29

The Supersport is a great ski, there is no question about it.  If there is one area of weakness its in the bumps.  As an expert all mountain skier I found this ski almost incomoparable when carving precise short and/or long turns on the steeps… it rocks here.  It was better than average in the crud (eastern powder), but the tips had a tendancy to dive a bit.  The lone area where I found this ski a bit out of place was in the bumps, specifically bumps with tight fall lines.  It handled average here at best.  For a better all mountain ski that might demand a bit less of the skier I’d recommend giving the Allstars a shot.  If you live tearing it up at high speeds on the steeps this ski is fantastic.

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/05

Riding this ski is a dream. It’s like riding a 175HP superbike like the Yamaha YZF-R1 up a canyon road. An absolutely breathtaking experience. This ski for shure is not for everyone. You have to be ultra focussed on the other skiers on the slope and calculate where they will go in the next moment, because you are the one who will have to pass all of them. So, if you are looking for a superfast carving experience with endless edge grip… buy this ski, you won’t be disappointed for shure. And… please always wear a helmet!

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/28

NO SPPED LIMIT, GREAD ON HARD PACK…NOT TOO BAD ON THE REST. GREAT RIDE.

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/12

I demoed these skis at Smugglers Notch in Northern Vermont on day and was very impressed.  I demoed several pairs that day and these stood out above all.  The were very impressive holding an edge on ice and hard packed powder, even on the 54 degree steeps of Freefall.  They were a little sluggish in the powder sectoin due to the narrow ski but it was not terrible.  I did not have any problems with mogols, they turned nicely and I felt in full control the entire time.  These skits easily blew away the others I demoed that day, being the Rossignol B2 and the Dynastar Legend 8800.  As for the binding on the Volkl, I had them adjusted to a standard and noticed no problem with them at all. 

In my opinion, this is the finest ski I have ever skied.

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/13

I demoed these Wachussets Mtn in East/Central Mass with conditions a mixture of typical East Coast hardpack and sugar.   I found it to be solid and smooth turning with lots of energy, easy turn initiation, and an energetic finish. It had good grip on hard snow and aggressively carved on softer sugar/groomed snow.   But what caugt me off guard was I found the ski preferred to make short turns, even though the Ski mags list it as a GS-type ski. Maybe this was just because I was hitting the sugar or its grip on the hard snow made it bite and come around faster than I anticipated but I had to concentrate to make long turns. I thought this may be fatiguing to ski all day and, if I got tired, a vault over the front was a possibility.   I’m 6’, 155lbs, and I tried a 175cm so it wasn’t too short by any stretch of the imagination.

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/20

Gotta disagree with Too much grip about length. Just demo’d 161 through high 170’s. 5’10”, 178lbs. East coast. The 168s were just on the long side of perfect. Unbelievable grip, truly on rails. stiff tails for bumps. Perfect for icy steeps in Vermont. No chance to relax - these skis want to turn.

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/21

The 168’s are perfect for east coast conditions (hardpack/ice) they carve like knife through butter.  Used them as Mt. Snow last Mon (3”-6”) new snow and they were fine as how many times do you really ski in that much powder in the east.

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/27

Is the AC2 worth considering for the intermmediate to advanced skiier, mostly on-piste. Have also been looking at the K2 crossfire.

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 03/05

I got these skis in the middle of the season and the change from my old salomons is amazing.  These skis have tremendous energy and will do whatever you want them to.  Moguls were challenging at first but doable.  The tips tended to dive just a bit in powder but nothing that any not powder specific ski wouldn’t have done.  All around, if you want a ski that will let you ski the entire mountain, these are for you.

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 03/12

I am thinking of buying a pair of Volkl AC3 size 170cm they are being supplied with the LT binding would I be better with the AT bindings whats everyones thoughts on this?

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 03/15

I am a proud owner of these skis, and have not regretted it for a second.  I would say however, that the AT Bindings are the way to go.  They don’t feel sluggish, and the Piston really does make a notable difference.  I would be comfortable taking this ski anywhere even though it is primarily for groomers.  On hard snow, it is a dream come true.  They are fast, stable, and make effortless turns

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 04/04

I tried the Volkl All star and found them hard work, fast all the time, awkward in deep heavy snow and not easy(having to ski fast) to get the rebound. I’m thinking of getting the 5 star, has anyone tried the volkl 5 star and the Z9 and how they compare. I’m an advanced skier, double blacks no problems, 5’9”, and 180lbs. I’d appreciate any and all feedback. Thanks

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 04/12

Im a 200lb expert skier and I bought the 5 stars early last season in australia and after demoing them was really happy. As I tried them in different conditions I became less impressed. They really rock going fast on the groomed trails.. I mean WOW!... but in bumps they are just hard work and not that much fun. In powder they aren’t exactly bad but maybe a little jumpy. Basically they are great if you want to rip hard and fast past everyone on the groomed trails and that is where they really shine, but for an all mountain ski I would be looking elsewhere. Sorry Guys I’d keep looking if I were you. I also skiid the atomic B5 a bit last year and yeah they were a very different ride to the 5 star. Much more of an all round ski but I’ve gotta say I’m still searching… maybe the fischer AMC or RX8?? p.s. if anyone who has skiid the 5 stars & has also skiid the fischer rx8 I’d love to read what you have to say

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 09/28

I’m 5’9, 145 lbs and ski exclusively at Iceface Mountain in upstate New York. Last summer I purchased a pair of 5 Star 161 cm. I still have yet to try them out, but they’re replacing my Rossi Bandit 160s. My Rossis are soft and max out pretty quickly so I’m looking forward to seeing how these ride.  I’ll let y’all know in a few weeks when Whiteface opens up!

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 10/31

Anybody have a pair of Supersport’s to sell?

Larger sizes!

mlsmax@comcast.net

Have demoed. They Rock!!!!

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 11/09

I am looking at a pair of 5 stars. They are 05 with AT PCOS bindings in excellent shape. I have looked at the wed site and besides some slight differences in lettering see no difference between 05 and 06 model. Does anyone know if I am missing something or if in fact no real changes were made that year. Thanks for the help.

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 12/10

I’m 5’9 and 145 lbs. Should I get 161cm or 168?

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 12/13

I am an advanced skier and skied the 2005 version for a few days. They are the best ski I have ever ridden on! The ski is heavy and stiff enough to carve icy pistes where other skis chatter and vibrate, the response time is optimal for me, allowing you to carve aggressively near the fall line without turning too sharply and losing speed. I had absolute confidence at being able to turn on them at any speed whenever needed. When I do my season next year I will be buying Supersports!

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 12/20

I live in Hungary; I ski in the Carpathian Mountains and in the Alps. I have tried several brands, I like Salomon, Head and Volkl the best. I saw a pair of 5 stars on discount for 350 $ worht of swiss franks…I had to buy them. They are pretty good skis. It works out with skis just as with cars, within the same category and price level they are more or less the same. If you plan on buying these skis I say go ahead with confidence, Volkl makes good skis; still made in Germany…

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 12/20

One more thing: I have the Marker motion AT bindings, with the world cup oil suspensor interface.

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 12/21

I am 5’2” 130 female,  I am thinking about buying the S5 in a 161, is that too long.  In the old days I used to ski on volkl 190cm….

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/05

I ski 168’s and find the tails a little soft. They have a tendency to slide-out on steep hard pack to icy conditions. It’s a scary surprise when it happens - like Michelins letting-go around a curve. I bought the skis for advertised all mountain skiing (very tired of sl/gs skis) and find they are about medium in foot deep snow and less so on bottomless. However, they’re still the best skis I’ve ever owned since early 60’s.

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/29

If you are worried about stiffness you might consider the All Star…

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/29

I’m 5’3 114 female and I skied on the 5 Star 161 on “Iceface” all last year. I found they were great at high speed on ice in GS turns - very solid. Unfortunately they were much too much work in the bumps. They will turn quick but it’s not their forte. I gave them to my son 5’9 135 and he loves them. So if you like to ride the rails at high speed, go for it. The length should be okay. If you like to turn quick on the steep or in the bumps - go short or to another ski.

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/29

If you are 130 and 5’2” then definitely go shorter than 161. The new 5 Star is stiffer than the 5 Star and you will find that the 154 is PLENTY of ski.

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 03/01

I am 6’1” 170 expert skier.  I recently bought the 5 star in a 178.  The ski carves beautifully and is stable at high speed, however an all mountain ski it is not. My one major gripe with this ski is in the bumps.  I found that I couldn’t get from edge to edge in the bumps.  The tips and tails would dig in and want to stay dug in.  Decent in the powder and the crud.  Again it is a great carving ski for the front of the mountain.  If you like to ski a lot of bumps and off piste, not the ski.

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/19

I am 47 5ft 10in 180 lbs. bought the 182’s man combined with the new rs head boots it all took 10 years off my life watch out for the old guys & I like more bumps and it is almost scary to WAX but very stable edges.wow

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 07/10

I am 5’8 165 55yr old expert. I have skied the 5 star for 4 seasons (total of 120 days). The only weakenss I have encountered with this ski is deep powder (6” or more), in which the ski does not float well. I am primarily a bump skier, and I can not believe some of the reviews which state that this ski is had to handle in the bumps. It rocks. You can easily ski the troughs, the tops, and anywhere else in between. The ski cuts fast, and if you are advanced enough to be able to dictate how much edge you need, you will experience pleasure and pinpoint control. If you are not an advanced skier, then forgo the 5 star and find a ski with softer tails…and stay off of the double diamonds!!!

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 12/07

I had these on rental in Le Grand Massif in March 2008. It was only my third holiday on snow, so I cannot claim experience, but my fellow skiers said my improvement on these was very noticeable. These never failed to grip on the pistes, due to knee problems from years of playing rugby I will not go near moguls. My vastly more experienced family said give to these a go, and I didn’t want to give them back. I was so impressed I picked up a pair in the UK prior to a trip to Whistler in December/January 2008.

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/10

I have been given a pair of 168 supersport 5 stars as a gift- however I don’t have any binding s or can find local Ski Shops to supply me any since they say they come with skis only. does anyone know where I can get the iPT Motion Marker Bindings? randyhowes@att.net

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by John Brady on 02/15

For the Marker pre-release….It’s pretty simple.  Turn up your DIN setting.  There is no perfect DIN setting for anyone, only a setting that is dictated by the charts as a theoritical optimim.  You need to sacrifice some capability to release in a slow twisting fall for retention and avoidance of unwanted release at high speed, as many high performing skiers must.  Make small, progressive adjustments based on your personal experience with the ski/binding/boot system and don’t worry about what the charts say.

Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006
Written by facebook10212886354985565 on 11/10

Skier Height: 5’5’‘ Skier Weight: 155 Skier Ability: Intermediate-Advanced Ski length Tested: 168

Ski Review:  These were my first performance ski and they helped me ski slopes and runs I would have never considered in the past.  My biggest concern with them is finding a worthy replacement…

Add review of this ski.

Click "Login with Facebook" to track and share your reviews and comments, and skip the form filling below:

Login with Facebook

Latest User Reviews

Ski : Salomon X-Drive 8.0 FS + XT12 2015

This info is priceless. Where can I find out more?
Website: http://herb24.space

Ski : Boheme Power Logo Orange 2015

This article is really a good one it helps new web visitors, who are wishing for blogging.


Website: http://herb24.space

Ski : Salomon X-Drive 8.0 FS 2016

Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this post and the rest of the site is really
good.
Website: http://herb24.space

Ski : Volkl Kendo 2014

Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this site.
It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s tough to get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual
appearance. I must say you’ve done a excellent job with this.
Also,...

Ski : Volkl Supersport 5 Star 2006

Skier Height: 5’5’‘
Skier Weight: 155
Skier Ability: Intermediate-Advanced
Ski length Tested: 168

Ski Review:  These were my first performance ski and they helped me ski slopes and runs I would have never considered in the past.  My...