Head iXRC 1100 Sandwich 2005 Ski Review

These skis are not for the faint hearted. I bought them several months ago and have done a couple of weeks on them already—they are fabulous.



Ski Review Brands

Model: i.XRC 1100 Sandwich
Size(cm) / Radius(m): 156/? 163/? 170/? 177/16.6 184/?
Sidecut :  113-67-99
Length tested: ?

Manufacturer’s Description:

“This model enables a skier to face anything that a snowcovered mountain could offer: wide turns, tight turns, moguls, jumps and even unexpected drop-offs. The wide middle section provides added stability in soft and deep snow. With side cut between GS and SL it combines extreme agility with a smooth ride.”

Ski-Review’s verdict:

I have been skiing for 18 years now so ski at quite an advanced level and these skis will only really suit advanced skiers. When going slowly or cruising they feel very grabby and nervous but when you get your speed up you are rewarded with a ski that has infinite edge grip, stability and energy that is especially good out of the turn firing you into the next one with awesome power.

They are very much like a full blown GS ski but are slightly easier to use and cope with shorter radius turns and off piste a little better. This however is not their natural habitat and that is flying down any groomed piste very quickly. Overall a superb piste ski that can handle a bit of all mountain skiing.

Real time prices for the Head iXRC 1100 Sandwich 2005, or similar ski products:

Reader Ski Reviews of the Head iXRC 1100 Sandwich 2005
Head iXRC 1100 Sandwich 2005
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/17

From OZ tested these out several time in Austarlia.  These are a very nice all-round ski workred well in Aust conditions which vary alot here, These we hire out @ REBEL sport this is my ski of choice in the top performacy range would be good OS as well.

Head iXRC 1100 Sandwich 2005
Written by Ski Review Guest on 04/06

I used these ski’s in the 04 winter in OZ. I found them easy to turn & fast edge to edge even at slower speeds.Best ski I have used.

Head iXRC 1100 Sandwich 2005
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/15

Great Ski that loves to ski fast. Like a rail, the faster you go the better then bite.. I weigh 250 lbs and they felt great, with no apparent stiftness to me. But I am not 140 lbs either. I am a type three skier with speed on the top of my list. Michael Joens

Head iXRC 1100 Sandwich 2005
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/14

As with all the other previous reviews I have found these ski’s to be excellent all round ( Fast - excellent carving - responsive and safe ) The big issue is after using the ski’s two weeks over 2 seasons both ski’s delaminated for the full length. The ski’s were stored underground dry, airiated and wiped dry after each day on the slopes. The technicians in France were astounded and offered to champion my cause with Head. I decided to return to the UK stored we purchased them from. The store was astounded and contacted Head. Head have replied ” out of warranty “. ( 2 weeks use ?!!!) No explanation, recompense or exchange! The French technicians say Head is out of order as this is a catestrophic failure and the ski’s are like new with NO edge damage. Has anyone else had a similar issue?

Head iXRC 1100 Sandwich 2005
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/27

both my skiis delaminated on the inside edge from tip back six inches . unskiable !

Head iXRC 1100 Sandwich 2005
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/27

Great skis with unparalelled grip and stability. Just unbeleivably good!

Head iXRC 1100 Sandwich 2005
Written by Ski Review Guest on 02/23

I have an 04 model of this ski that I purchased used online, great ski but when I recieved them they where unlaminated on the edges.  The company I bought them from told me to trash em and they sent me another ski of my choice, but I decided to super glue the unlaminated section and I just skied the fool out of them and 4 years later here they are doing just fine.  The ski is heavy compared to lower level skis but when it comes to ice these guys just hold on.

Add review of this ski.