Ski Reviews by Brand:

Ski Review

Salomon Equipe 24 Hours 2010 Ski Review

The new Equipe 24 Hours from Salomon brings a unique recipe of high performance combined with a wide sweet spot.

Equipe 24 Hours

Ski: Salomon Equipe 24 Hours (2010)
Ski discipline: Racing
Length (cm) / Dimension (tip-waist-tail - mm) / Radius (m):
154 / 119-70-99 / 13.1
162 / 119-71-101 / 14
170 / 119-72-103 / 15.2
178 / 119-73-105 / 16.8

Manufacturer’s Description of the Salomon Equipe 24 Hours:

"The endurance performance Race Carving Ski. Unique recipe of high performance combined with a wide sweet spot. Full wood core double Ti Sandwich construction on a 72mm waist platform."

A full wood core double Titanium sandwich construction on a 72mm waist platform deliver expert level Race Carving in high speed turns.

The 24 Hours reference can best be explained with the LeMans 24hr theory. This ski is long on endurance and performance in the toughest ice & hard packed snow providing smooth terrain absorption & progressive ski/snow contact.

The Equipe 24 Hours LOVES to go fast and bomb through anything in their way without tossing the skier or losing their intended direction. Glide is smooth and fast, while the slightly wider race platform (72mm under foot) gives skiers the advantage of a nice sweet spot. No, its not a World Cup Race ski; but how many people are truly capable of World Cup technique? The new Equipe 24 Hours is one great ski, and Salomon has done a spectacular job of combining a race ski with an expert level missile that is nothing short of HUGE FUN.

Real time prices for the Salomon Equipe 24 Hours 2010, or similar ski products:

Reader Ski Reviews of the Salomon Equipe 24 Hours 2010
Salomon Equipe 24 Hours 2010
Written by Ski Review Guest on 11/12

We had a question about the 24 hr from a skier in Northern BC, Canada He asks…

“Can Brian answer a question re:tested ski above.How does the Equipe 24hour short turn? And how damp is the ski for black diamond mogul runs when there issome left over powder. I ski in Northern BC. thanx”

The following is in addition to our original review of the Salomon Equipe 24hr.

The Equipe 24 hour is a wood core with 2 metal laminates, which has always been the best combination for a smooth damped ride, especially in GS, Super G and Downhill skis. The Equipe 24 hour is both smooth and fairly “quiet” or “damped” which helps in it’s ability to charge through some “late day junk” and broken snow. With just over 15 meter radius (at 170cm) the “quicker turns” and agility are stellar, but heavier skiers might want to look to the Tornado Ti or the Dynastar 4x4, especially if more time is spent in softer snow, as the Equipe 24hr has a light feel and its more of a “race carver.” As a mogul ski, the 16mm taper angle gives the skier the ability to change direction and “pivot” with minimal effort, so its shape is right “at home” in bumps, and I have always favored wood/metal even in bump skis going as far back as the old Fischer SL Super. Truly a killer mogul ski.

BUT (here we go again) REMEMBER…2 sheets of metal can be enough to cause the ski to remain bent, which may exclude any possibilities of warranty. Most companies won’t replace bent skis, or torn edges, unless there is delamination than can be traced to a manufacturing defect. You may want to get your “dealer’s” thoughts on this before you start bashing bigger bumps.

Bottom line here…if someone tells you a ski does “everything” they are probably on commission.

Salomon Equipe 24 Hours 2010
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/10

which fischer is close to salomon equipe 24 ?

Salomon Equipe 24 Hours 2010
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/30

Where can you buy these in he USA?

Salomon Equipe 24 Hours 2010
Written by Ski Review Guest on 01/30

The Progressor 9+ seems closest. Although, per tester remarks, I get the impression that the Salomon may be more the bomber.

Salomon Equipe 24 Hours 2010
Written by MACtias on 02/04

Hello I would like to know how is its behavior on shirt turns and grummed and soft snow? And would you say apply the general rule of 5 cms. less than skier’s height??

Thanks

Salomon Equipe 24 Hours 2010
Written by Ski Review Guest on 03/03

just been on the 2011 versions today,

the piste was a firm with a dusting of powder, and some small moguls kicking around.

they are fantastic and really get the heart racing

and your about right with the length

Salomon Equipe 24 Hours 2010
Written by Ski Review Guest on 04/02

Just spent a week on a pair of Salomon 24 hrs in Les Arcs in conditions from pack ice to 3 feet of fresh powder.  They are outstanding and do everything from high speed carving to control in lumpy stuff and effortless in powder.  So much so - I bought a pair in the local shops (they had a 40% end of season sale) In 20 years of Skiing this is the most versatile pair of skis I have used.  Pricy at 600 euros but great value at 400 (and no rental charges for the pair I have used for the last week

Salomon Equipe 24 Hours 2010
Written by Ski Review Guest on 05/08

Recently purchased some demo Equipe 24hrs after comparing with the Fury and Tornado. The 24hr beat the all mountain skis on every part of the mountain I tried: steep, soft, hard, groomers, icy crud. This ski is FUN!

Salomon Equipe 24 Hours 2010
Written by Gary Jordan on 12/06

where to buy in the UK,or get delivered best price thanks in advance

Salomon Equipe 24 Hours 2010
Written by P Johnson on 03/10

Skier Height:5’9” Skier Weight:160 Skier Ability:Advanced Ski length Tested:162

Ski Review: Been skiing on Atomic GSII - great ski for fast skiing on steep hard pack.  Wanted a shorter, easier ski.  Just purchased rental Salomon 24 hr - love em! Paid Euro 180 - very good condition.  Great for cranking hard-over medium radius turns and handle very nice in soft “spring skiing”.

Add review of this ski.

Latest User Reviews

Ski : Atomic Nomad Blackeye 2008

Skier Height:6’ 0
Skier Weight:205
Skier Ability:advanced
Ski length Tested:171

Ski Review:my very first ski! I bought them 3 years ago from a friend and through the past 3 years I’ve learned alot while skiing these. Yes its 2020 and...

Ski : Atomic Race Ti SL 2012

Skier Height: 5’4
Skier Weight: N/A
Skier Ability: Advanced
Ski length Tested: 163

Ski Review: My G/F tried my skis yesterday! She is still smiling and we are already getting ready to go back to the hill! It’s 6 AM.

Ski : Atomic Race Ti SL 2012

Skier Height: 5’4
Skier Weight: N/A
Skier Ability: Advanced
Ski length Tested: 163

Ski Review: Atomic Ti SL Race

Every Saturday about 8 to 10 of my ‘Homies’ ski at Mont Blanc in the Laurentians. Brigite hadn’t been able to join us for...